Assignment of Astronauts for the Space Shuttle Mission (STS-123 1J/A) to Launch the Japanese Experiment Module “Kibo”

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) announced the selection of the following astronauts as crew members for the Space Shuttle mission to assemble the Japanese Experiment Module (JEM) "Kibo" (1J/A.)

The Kibo, which has been developed by the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) as part of the International Space Station (ISS) Program, is scheduled to be launched by three Space Shuttle missions. On the first of the three missions, the Experiment Logistics Module Pressurized Section will be attached to the ISS. This mission also will deliver the Canadian Space Agency’s Dextre robotic system. Astronaut Takao Doi has been assigned as a crew member on this mission. Astronaut Naoko Yamazaki will assist the mission from the ground as the Crew Support Astronaut (CSA).

  • Crew Commander: Capt. Dominic L. Gorie
  • Pilot: Col. Gregory H. Johnson
  • Mission Specialist:  Richard M. Linnehan
  • Mission Specialist : Maj. Robert L. Behnken
  • Mission Specialist : Capt. Michael J. Foreman
  • Mission Specialist:  Takao Doi

For further information:
Biography of the STS-123 Crew
Comment from Astronaut Doi
Outline of the Kibo

JAXA Astronaut Selected for Space Shuttle Mission for Transporting and Assembling the Japanese Experiment Module Kibo


Source: Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
For further information about JAXA, click here

See more news in Aerospace | | Mail to friend | Add Skycontrol to favorites